Clio Servo

Post Reply
User avatar
Rinx
E30 Zone Newbie
E30 Zone Newbie
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:00 pm

Thu Jan 24, 2019 9:33 pm

Is there any easy way of working out what length spacer is needed when using a Clio servo or is it a bit of a trial and error job?
DanThe
Best Car & Mod-Master Winner 2009
Posts: 27830
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:00 pm
Location: Staffs
Contact:

Fri Jan 25, 2019 8:42 am

Trial and error which is why I wont sell them
Co founder of CR24vTM

PM For 24v Loom And Exhaust Conversions M50/M52/S50
EWS Delete & Remaps Also Available

https://www.facebook.com/bmconversionsuk/
steve_k
Old Skooler
Old Skooler
Posts: 6805
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 10:00 pm
Location: in the vale of mansfield
Contact:

Fri Jan 25, 2019 9:55 am

as dan says it's all trial & error, also depends om what M/C your using.
i used a 25mm from an audi (can't remember which model sorry) & all i had to do was adjust the rod from the pedal to the clevis pin & it fitted spot on.

rule of thumb is the "spacer" is either 10mm or 20mm, make up one of each length & go from there.
if it's got t*ts or wheels it's bound to be trouble...............prove me wrong.
getting oral sex off an ugly person is like rock climbing.....don't look down ;)
User avatar
Rinx
E30 Zone Newbie
E30 Zone Newbie
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:00 pm

Fri Jan 25, 2019 7:19 pm

Thanks chaps. Will see how I get on tomorrow. Feels a bit weird to rely on a Clio component to stop a relatively powerful car though.

Do you have any plans to do a plug and play solution any time soon Dan?
Gt40e30
E30 Zone Newbie
E30 Zone Newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2019 11:40 am

Sun Jan 27, 2019 11:16 am

They made Clio’s with more power than 325i e30’s !
User avatar
flybynite
E30 Zone Newbie
E30 Zone Newbie
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 11:00 pm

Sun Jan 27, 2019 11:48 am

Gt40e30 wrote:
Sun Jan 27, 2019 11:16 am
They made Clio’s with more power than 325i e30’s !
Yes but the Clio V6 had a different servo to the 1.2!
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Renault-Spor ... 2458417823
DanThe
Best Car & Mod-Master Winner 2009
Posts: 27830
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:00 pm
Location: Staffs
Contact:

Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:47 pm

The servo is made by Bosch and is much more modern, ive fitted just a servo before and the brakes become much better.
You cant plug and play servos, they are much too reliant on final adjustment, ive seen and repaired some horrendous bodges over the years where servos are concerned, id rather not sell anything to do with them
Co founder of CR24vTM

PM For 24v Loom And Exhaust Conversions M50/M52/S50
EWS Delete & Remaps Also Available

https://www.facebook.com/bmconversionsuk/
User avatar
B5234FT
E30 Zone Newbie
E30 Zone Newbie
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 10:00 pm

Mon Jan 28, 2019 10:24 am

So with the bits in front of you, how would you determine the spacer size? Enough to fully fill the gap without slack or preload?
User avatar
Rinx
E30 Zone Newbie
E30 Zone Newbie
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:00 pm

Sun Mar 24, 2019 6:54 pm

I just done mine this weekend. Can post up some pics I took if that helps.

Pedal feels a lot firmer compared to the standard set up.

I'm getting a noticeable servo noise inside the car now when I press the brake pedal though - it's been so long since I have driven the car that I can't remember whether the E30 servo could be heard inside the car as well. I think it did, but can't remember!
Gt40e30
E30 Zone Newbie
E30 Zone Newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2019 11:40 am

Wed Apr 10, 2019 6:34 pm

Does anyone have a part number?
User avatar
joeyb
E30 Zone Regular
E30 Zone Regular
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 11:00 pm
Location: Fareham, Hampshire

Fri Apr 12, 2019 2:16 pm

Rinx wrote:
Sun Mar 24, 2019 6:54 pm
I just done mine this weekend. Can post up some pics I took if that helps.

Pedal feels a lot firmer compared to the standard set up.

I'm getting a noticeable servo noise inside the car now when I press the brake pedal though - it's been so long since I have driven the car that I can't remember whether the E30 servo could be heard inside the car as well. I think it did, but can't remember!
Did you use a spacer?

I used a spacer in mine, just finished bleeding the brakes so will find out if its worked or not when I start the car next. Currently the pedal is rock solid, no movement! Is this a sign I didnt need a spacer??
User avatar
Rinx
E30 Zone Newbie
E30 Zone Newbie
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:00 pm

Sat Apr 13, 2019 9:36 pm

I think the part number is 8200 192 616. You need a servo from a mk2 clio 1.2 so 2001 to 2005. The one I have is a Bosch one which is approximately 220mm wide. There is an ATF one on certain Clio's which I think is too wide.

JoeyB - yes, I did have to use a spacer. On the E30 servo that I removed, the push rod sits flush with the face of the servo where the master cylinder mounts. On the clio servo, the push rod was shorter so I measured the distance from the top of the push rod to the face of the servo which was 23mm. I made a spacer up to this length by cutting a steel rod with an angle grinder and then rounding the top off. I also put a dimple in the bottom using a drill bit. The final length of the spacer was just under 23mm.

Did you adjust the rod that goes between the brake pedal and the clevis pin? I had to release it first so the servo could be connected up with the clevis pin and then tightened the rod (i.e. screwed it in at the pedal) until I was happy with the pedal feel. I found that if you tighten even slightly too much, the brakes bind so it took a bit of messing around to get it right. Sounds like you need to start the car when it's ready and then see what the brake pedal feels like. If it is still rock hard, then maybe release the rod a bit from the pedal and see if that helps.

Hope that makes sense.
User avatar
joeyb
E30 Zone Regular
E30 Zone Regular
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 11:00 pm
Location: Fareham, Hampshire

Mon Apr 15, 2019 11:09 am

Turns out I didnt have the push rod located in the master cylinder...must have slipped past when tussling to get the MC over the two mounting studs. I've also managed to lose two spacers now in the brake servo. No idea how I'm managing that but they are clearly rattling free whilst fitting. Going to take the servo off again and hopefully retrieve two spacers currently MIA
User avatar
Rinx
E30 Zone Newbie
E30 Zone Newbie
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:00 pm

Mon Apr 15, 2019 6:54 pm

Have you tried using a telescopic magnet tool?
steve_k
Old Skooler
Old Skooler
Posts: 6805
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 10:00 pm
Location: in the vale of mansfield
Contact:

Mon Apr 15, 2019 6:59 pm

Rinx wrote:
Mon Apr 15, 2019 6:54 pm
Have you tried using a telescopic magnet tool?
i've used one of them a few times when i've dropped nuts in the engine bay & they've saved my skin a few times.

well worth a few quid to try & fish out any "lost" nuts/washers.
if it's got t*ts or wheels it's bound to be trouble...............prove me wrong.
getting oral sex off an ugly person is like rock climbing.....don't look down ;)
User avatar
joeyb
E30 Zone Regular
E30 Zone Regular
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 11:00 pm
Location: Fareham, Hampshire

Tue Apr 16, 2019 7:47 am

Rinx wrote:
Mon Apr 15, 2019 6:54 pm
Have you tried using a telescopic magnet tool?
Looks like the spring in the servo will prevent me from getting the magnet where I want it. Its not much bother to take the servo all the way out. This time I'll refit with MC connected so I'm confident the spacer doesnt get lost! New MC going in also...
steve_k
Old Skooler
Old Skooler
Posts: 6805
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 10:00 pm
Location: in the vale of mansfield
Contact:

Tue Apr 16, 2019 8:00 am

i've found that a flat headed slim & flexible magnetic pick up tool is a god send in the tool box,

what M/C you going to be using?
if it's got t*ts or wheels it's bound to be trouble...............prove me wrong.
getting oral sex off an ugly person is like rock climbing.....don't look down ;)
User avatar
joeyb
E30 Zone Regular
E30 Zone Regular
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 11:00 pm
Location: Fareham, Hampshire

Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:09 am

Yes my magnetic pickup tool is a bit clunky, probably worth an upgrade as you say

Just using the standard E30 MC, new one is Topran I think
steve_k
Old Skooler
Old Skooler
Posts: 6805
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 10:00 pm
Location: in the vale of mansfield
Contact:

Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:31 am

dont blame you with the new M/C,
when i did mine i changed it to a 25mm non abs one from an audi just had to block off the two outlets on the other side using bleed nipples,
if it's got t*ts or wheels it's bound to be trouble...............prove me wrong.
getting oral sex off an ugly person is like rock climbing.....don't look down ;)
User avatar
Rinx
E30 Zone Newbie
E30 Zone Newbie
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:00 pm

Tue Apr 16, 2019 7:16 pm

Did the brakes improve with the Audi M/C?
steve_k
Old Skooler
Old Skooler
Posts: 6805
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 10:00 pm
Location: in the vale of mansfield
Contact:

Tue Apr 16, 2019 7:46 pm

Rinx wrote:
Tue Apr 16, 2019 7:16 pm
Did the brakes improve with the Audi M/C?
Yes quite a bit,

I used the audi M/C with the clio servo,
But because I've got 284mm disc's with 4 pot calipers as well I had to make use of an adjustable bias Valve in the rear line to stop the rear brakes locking up.
if it's got t*ts or wheels it's bound to be trouble...............prove me wrong.
getting oral sex off an ugly person is like rock climbing.....don't look down ;)
User avatar
joeyb
E30 Zone Regular
E30 Zone Regular
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 11:00 pm
Location: Fareham, Hampshire

Tue Apr 16, 2019 10:00 pm

Is that the WMS setup?

I’ve got that to put on yet. Just want to see standard brakes working before introducing more change !
steve_k
Old Skooler
Old Skooler
Posts: 6805
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 10:00 pm
Location: in the vale of mansfield
Contact:

Wed Apr 17, 2019 7:45 am

no mine is the hi spec billet 4 set up, had it about 10yr's.

if i need new discs i use mg zr 160 front discs. (cheaper than what hi-spec/ebc want)
if it's got t*ts or wheels it's bound to be trouble...............prove me wrong.
getting oral sex off an ugly person is like rock climbing.....don't look down ;)
User avatar
joeyb
E30 Zone Regular
E30 Zone Regular
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 11:00 pm
Location: Fareham, Hampshire

Wed Apr 17, 2019 10:16 am

Ah OK. Supposedly the WMS setup is well suited to the standard M/C so hopefully I'll be OK with what I have
steve_k
Old Skooler
Old Skooler
Posts: 6805
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 10:00 pm
Location: in the vale of mansfield
Contact:

Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:12 pm

joeyb wrote:
Wed Apr 17, 2019 10:16 am
Ah OK. Supposedly the WMS setup is well suited to the standard M/C so hopefully I'll be OK with what I have
My set up was pretty good with the standard m/c as well.

I upgraded it when I did the clio servo conversion (diaphragm had gone in the e30 servo).
if it's got t*ts or wheels it's bound to be trouble...............prove me wrong.
getting oral sex off an ugly person is like rock climbing.....don't look down ;)
User avatar
joeyb
E30 Zone Regular
E30 Zone Regular
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 11:00 pm
Location: Fareham, Hampshire

Wed Apr 17, 2019 9:11 pm

I whipped the servo off tonight and retrieved the two MIA spacers lol. This time I joined the M/C and servo on the bench and then refitted as a complete unit. No more missing spacer! I'll bleed things up when I next get out to the garage and see whats what. When I'm happy with standard setup I'll get the WMS parts fitted.
steve_k
Old Skooler
Old Skooler
Posts: 6805
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 10:00 pm
Location: in the vale of mansfield
Contact:

Thu Apr 18, 2019 7:58 am

sounds like a plan, good luck.
if it's got t*ts or wheels it's bound to be trouble...............prove me wrong.
getting oral sex off an ugly person is like rock climbing.....don't look down ;)
Post Reply